• Image of Jeanette Jones - Dreams All Come True

The complete recorded legacy of the San Francisco’s enigmatic Soul Diva Jeanette Jones.

First coming to prominence as a member of the Voices of Victory gospel ensemble, Jeanette Jones was noticed by Studio owner Leo Kulka as a standout among the 60-strong choir. After eventually being convinced to try secular material, with the single “Darling I’m Standing By You”/”The Thought of You” issued on Kulka’s own Golden Soul label before being picked up nationally by Modern Records’ Kent subsidiary.

Though unable to place any further recordings, and album’s worth of similarly classy and powerful material was tracked, featuring contributions from Rene Hall, HB Barnum and Wally Cox. Many of these recordings have slipped out on Various Artists compilations or reissue singles in recent years, resulting in some belated appreciation of this under-heralded diva.

Jeanette would continue to make the occasional appearance in Kulka’s studio, singing with Mike Bloomfield’s “Mill Valley Bunch” project, and tracking two striking recordings for Gerry Goffin and singer-songwriter Barry Goldberg, “I’d Be Good For You” and the stunning “What Have You Got To Gain By Losing Me”.

This compilation collects every known Jeanette Jones solo recording; as well as her Mill Valley Bunch sessions and recordings fronting the Voices of Victory (most of which were only issued on an extremely rare private press LP).
Booklet features liner notes by Alec Palao, beautifully illustrated with photos from Golden State Recorders’ archives.Mastered by Nick Robbins at Sound Mastering.

1. I Want Action
2. Cut Loose
3. You’d Be Good For Me
4. I’m Glad I Got Over You
5. Jealous Moon
6. Break Someone Else’s Heart
7. Quittin’ The Blues
8. Dreams All Come True
9. I Want You Mine
10. What Have You Got To Gain By Losing Me
11. The Thought Of You
12. Darling I’m Standing By You
13. What Would I Do Without My Baby
14. Ooh-Ooh-Ooh, La, La, La
15. He’ll Understand
16. Lord I’ll Go
17. There Is No Failure In God
18. Lord I’ll Cry Out
19. There Is A Fountain
20. Why

Recorded 1965-1974
All songs stereo, except 9, 15-20.